Fall/Autumn Pictures!

Howdy all,

To celebrate the fact that Fall lasted longer than a whimper this year, (last year we had a nice September and then the cold set in), Vanna and I went for a walk a couple of days ago to document the changing colours of the leaves.  We didn’t get many pictures, but it certainly was gorgeous. Still is, in fact; driving to Crosby today was worth it for the views alone. Anyway, here’s the slideshow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

In other news, I have a job! Well, almost. They still need to complete background checks (a slow process so far, my fault for being a foreigner) so I’m not going to say anything more until I have a confirmed start date. It’s very promising though. A great opportunity, and it doesn’t involve filing(!), so yeah, I’m happy.

I also applied for my second Bioware writer position earlier this month*. Although there are some parallels between Betrayal (story two) and Sacrifice (story one), I think I’ve done a better job this time. I’m still not totally convinced everything fits the application demands, but I tried my best to find the right balance. Link is below if you want to check it out.

http://philome.la/Phlegethon92/betrayal

Uh, what else? Well, I’m looking forward to getting back into my book after a month absence (job searching and writing applications has been rather time-consuming). The plot issues and constant editing do get tiring at times, but I’m grateful that I can dictate my story completely. My characters say I what I want them to say, their decisions are made for them, and there is only one ending.  Though I like giving choices, it’ll be nice to have total control over my writing once again.

Right. I suppose that’s about it for now. I’ll be back soon to discuss the job (hopefully), plus my latest adventures in reading and gaming.

Bye for now,

Alex

*I happened to get a rejection letter from EA but given the philome.la story views, I think I was too slow finishing Sacrifice and simply missed out on the deadline. I’m not too upset, though. It was good practice, and although I liked the grim ending, Betrayal is a better effort. Or at least I think it is. Regardless, these applications can only be viewed as positive experiences. They have reminded me that this is what I want to do in life, and I’m confident I’ll get there. I just need to work at it.

One thought on “Fall/Autumn Pictures!”

Leave a comment